The Enemy of Happiness – Abandonment, Sunday May 7, 2023

According to recent research only 20 percent of non-church Americans are happy.  67 percent of active church attendees are happy. The good news is that a relationship with Jesus Christ and His church makes a difference.  The sad news is there are 33 percent of Christians who are unhappy and emotionally unhealthy. According to Dennis Kirchner (licensed therapist) a feeling of abandonment leads to depression and guilt/shame.

The Masks We Wear

  • Psalms 6:2-7 Be gracious to me, O LORD, for I am languishing; heal me, O LORD, for my bones are troubled. My soul also is greatly troubled. But you, O LORD—how long? Turn, O LORD, deliver my life; save me for the sake of your steadfast love. For in death there is no remembrance of you; in Sheol who will give you praise? I am weary with my moaning; every night I flood my bed with tears; I drench my couch with my weeping. My eye wastes away because of grief; it grows weak because of all my foes.
  • Psalms 88:13-14 But I cry to you for help, LORD; in the morning my prayer comes before you. Why, LORD, do you reject me and hide your face from me?

The Reality of Life

  • Proverbs 5:7 For man is born for trouble, as sparks fly upward.
  • Matthew 6:24 So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

The Perseverance of Our Faith

  • Luke 21:22-23Simon, Simon, behold, Satan has demanded permission to sift you like wheat; but I have prayed for you, that your faith may not fail; and you, when once you have turned again, strengthen your brothers.
  • Acts 2:14 But Peter, standing with the eleven, lifted up his voice and addressed them: “Men of Judea and all who dwell in Jerusalem, let this be known to you, and give ear to my words.
  • Acts 2:37-39, 41 Now when they heard this they were cut to the heart, and said to Peter and the rest of the apostles, “Brothers, what shall we do?” And Peter said to them, “Repent and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins, and you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. For the promise is for you and for your children and for all who are far off, everyone whom the Lord our God calls to himself.” (V 41) So those who received his word were baptized, and there were added that day about three thousand souls.

Leave a comment