LIVING BY FAITH IN A CRAZY WORLD, PASTOR DAN PRUS

Habakkuk 2:4 NKJ  Behold the proud, His soul is not upright in him; But the just shall live by his faith.

Faith is what holds us together when we would otherwise fall apart.

  • Habakkuk 1:2-4  O Lord, how long shall I cry,
    And You will not hear?
    Even cry out to You, “Violence!”
    And You will not save.
    Why do You show me iniquity,
    And cause me to see [a]trouble?
    For plundering and violence are before me;
    There is strife, and contention arises.
    Therefore the law is powerless,
    And justice never goes forth.
    For the wicked surround the righteous;
    Therefore perverse judgment proceeds.
  • Habakkuk 3:17-19  Though the fig tree may not blossom,
    Nor fruit be on the vines;
    Though the labor of the olive may fail,
    And the fields yield no food;
    Though the flock may be cut off from the fold,
    And there be no herd in the stalls—
    18 Yet I will rejoice in the Lord,
    I will joy in the God of my salvation.

19The Lord God is my strength;
He will make my feet like deer’s feet,
And He will make me walk on my high hills.

Faith is discovered and cultivated in the hard places.

  • James 1:1-4  James, a bondservant of God and of the Lord Jesus Christ, To the twelve tribes which are scattered abroad: Greetings. My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith producespatience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.

Faith fills in the blanks.

  • Psalm 73:1-3   Truly God is good to Israel, To such as are pure in heart.  But as for me, my feet had almost stumbled; My steps had nearly slipped. For I was envious of the boastful, When I saw the prosperity of the wicked.
  • Psalm 73:16-26  When I thought how to understand this, It was too painful for me – Until I went into the sanctuary of God;Then I understood their end.  Surely You set them in slippery places; You cast them down to destruction. Oh, how they arebrought to desolation, as in a moment! They are utterly consumed with terrors.  As a dream when one awakes, So, Lord, when You awake, You shall despise their image. Thus my heart was grieved, And I was [b]vexed in my mind. I was so foolish and ignorant; I was like a beast before You. Nevertheless I am continually with You; You hold me by my right hand. You will guide me with Your counsel, And afterward receive me to glory. Whom have I in heaven but You? And there is none upon earth that I desire besides You. My flesh and my heart fail; But God is the [c]strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Leave a comment